The Week of Lasts

It’s officially begun.  My final week in Costa Rica.  The 52nd week.  Days 358-365.  The last days.

Yesterday was my last day of Las Gallinas (our Tuesday-afternoon women’s group).  They put on a huge surprise party for me with cake and arroz con pollo and balloons and presents galore, and I felt so special.  I cried and laughed and took a bazillion pictures with the ladies I’ve come to love so very dearly…I’ll miss them.

A few of my gallinas <3

A few of my gallinas ❤

Then afterwards I had my last English class with my Tuesday group.  It’s been a beautiful, hectic, frustrating, laughter-filled few months with those ladies, and I’ll miss hearing “teacher, teacher!” in their cute little English-learning accents.  I’m immensely thankful for Mariana, the girl who’ll be taking my place–I met her yesterday and I know she’ll do a great job.
So I made cookies for our last class together, and gave each student a little pair of earrings I’d made.  Then we all held hands and they prayed for me, and I can’t put into words how grateful I was for that.  Many tears were shed (mostly by me, but the others too), and hugs were shared.  I’m thankful for the opportunity I had to teach those ladies, and I pray that they’ll keep pressing on.

Norma, Andrea, Noilyn, Seidy, me, and Vanesa–my students (:

Then last night I went to go watch the Costa Rica vs. Mexico soccer match with a bunch of friends, and I realised that that may very well be my last match I’ll watch here with that group of friends.  I might even start watching soccer in the States, just for nostalgia’s sake 😉
Lots of antics were had by all, and I’m thankful for that time I got to spend just hanging out with my best friends here.

So I’ve had to go through a bunch of “lasts” this final week, and I’m only one day into it!  Tonight will be my last Wednesday-night Bible study, tomorrow my last La Roca meeting, and the list keeps going on…but listing them all is depressing me, so I’ll stop there.

This week also happens to be my last week as a child–I turn 18 on Sunday.  Everyone is planning a huge giant birthday/going away party for me on Sunday night, and I’m a little apprehensive as there has been mention of dancing and egging…oh dear.  But I’m excited to spend that special day with some of my favourite people, dancing or not.

My actual birthday isn't till Sunday, but las Gallinas gave me a party a little bit early (:

My actual birthday isn’t till Sunday, but las Gallinas gave me a party a little bit early (:

Leave a comment